

Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts BOARD OF TRUSTEES EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE Minutes of the Meeting of December 13, 2018 Murdock Hall Room 208

Members in attendance:

Denise Marshall, Chair JD Chesloff, Vice Chair Mohan Boodram Brenda Burdick (Telephonic) Lisa Chamberlain Susan Gold

Others present:

Dr. James Birge, President Lisa Lescarbeau, Clerk

Chair Marshall called the meeting to order at 3:34 p.m.

President Birge began with an overview of the current state of the faculty contract, which was submitted to the Commissioner, but was not advanced to the Governor in the 30 days allowed by law. This resulted in legal action being filed with the Division of Labor by the Union. A settlement was reached whereby the Union agreed to drop the charges if the contract was advanced to the Governor, who now has 45 days to take action on the contract.

Trustees discussed the equivalencies compensation portion of the contract, how the current administration views this as part of all compensation, and potential outcomes.

President Birge commented on the invitation that Dr. Williams was extended to attend the Faculty Forum, and his decision to decline this invitation. He also provided a summary overview of his meeting with MSCA Union President.

Trustees further discussed the equivalencies and compensation aspect of the MSCA contract. President Birge is meeting with the COP on December 21 and will provide feedback from that meeting to Chair Marshall.

President Birge led a discussion of recommendations of honorary degree recipients. The following individuals were proposed:

- Richard Alcombright, Former Mayor of the City of North Adams
- Shirley Edgerton, former MCLA Board of Trustees member, Community Activist

BOARD OF TRUSTEES EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE Minutes of the Meeting of December 13, 2018 Page 2

• Richard Neal, U. S. Congressman, Chairman-Designate of the House Committee on Ways & Means

President Birge also announced that Congressman Neal has been invited to deliver the commencement speech at commencement exercises in May 2019.

Discussion of the proposed degree recipients and the commencement speaker followed.

Upon motion duly made and seconded it was unanimously:

VOTED: to recommend approval of Richard Alcombright, Shirley Edgerton and Richard Neal to be given honorary degrees at commencement exercises on May 18, 2019.

Lastly, Chair Marshall inquired for other business. None being brought forth, upon motion duly made and seconded, it was **VOTED** to adjourn at 4:23 p.m.